Preparation? I beg your pardon?

I found a goodie yesterday. It was a summary of actual play. The GM came empty handed and just asked questions until she had something to go with, and it sounded like they had a blast. Coming empty handed requires some guts, especially if you, like me, don’t feel entirely confident in your own abilities.

After Christmas, I have decided to give it a go though. I’m going to start up a new campaign, and I’m going to improvise the hell out of whatever the players throw at me.

I found it in “The Dungeon World Tavern”, a DW forum on Google+. You can find it here.

Tags: ,

About Undreren

I'm a university student from Denmark, currently taking my candidate degree in Mathematical-Economics. I have played pen & paper RPG's since 2004, but my interest for the phenomenon sparked about 3 years prior to that. I'm an amateur programmer and knows Java and Haskell as well as some rudimentary HTML, CSS, PHP and Javascript.

2 responses to “Preparation? I beg your pardon?”

  1. Nifelhein says :

    I managed to GM my first Dungeon World game, despite my plans to start with a Dragon in media res, I had to start slower simply because the questions led to a situation where a dragon would actually invalidate their choices, instead of making them important, the session ended with a Dragon cliffhanger though.

    The entire session was made based on their answer during character creation and how I managed their failures or twisted their 7-9 successes.

    I will post a quick recap in my blog when I get the time.

Leave a Reply

