Finally, a party assembled!

Finally, I have assembled a group of five players via Google+! We will play for the first time after the 9th, where my wife goes on maternity leave.

We haven’t decided anything about the campaign, but I have asked the players what they like. To summarize:

  • Exploration
  • Steampunk (oh, I liked when they mentioned this)
  • True magic is rare, not many magic users

I take it with a grain of salt though. In Dungeon World, everything about the setting should be established during play, not before play. When players present their characters, I will ask a lot of questions, which will be what establishes the core of the setting.

I will let the players present their characters one at a time. They should tell me the character’s name, class, appearance and which choices they have made on their character sheets. Then I will ask them some of the questions, if they remain unanswered after presentation:

  • *Character name*, where did you grow up?
  • Where did you get your training?
  • Do you have living relatives?
  • Do you know any NPC’s that you consider friends or allies?
  • What are their stations or professions?
  • Is your character known for something, and if so, how is his reputation?

I will of course ask more questions, but they depend on their answers and presentation, so I can’t really prepare for them. I don’t expect it to be difficult to ask questions. I will also ask the other players if they have questions about the player character in focus. This should give birth to some pretty interesting questions.

When everyone has presented their characters, I will proceed to the bonds. I will inform them that I expect them to be well acquainted, having been together for a while. I will also make sure they are friends and trust each other, I am too familiar with the pains of inter-party conflicts. I will probably also ask them what they do, as in why they are working together. To make a name for themselves? Because they are frickin’ heroes? Do they do what they must, because no one else can?

After this phase, I will ask them some questions to set the scene. I will try to ask them loaded questions to make sure that the game will start with some sort of action scenario. Where are you know? What are you doing here? What is disturbing the peace? What dangers do you know to be present? Stuff like that. I will not ask the group though. I will shift from player to player, until we are ready to play.

We have already decided who will play which classes. It was kind of a miracle that no one shared a preferred class.

  • Poul, from Denmark, will play the Ranger
  • Andrei, from Russia with love, will play the Thief
  • Sophia, grom Germany, will play the Paladin
  • Grègoire, from France, will play the Wizard
  • Tim, from Germany, will play the Fighter

This should prove interesting!

And todays reward!

I became a father last year, the 29th December, 5:30 AM. Here’s a picture of my beautiful wife and daughter!
My beautiful wife and our daughter!

Tags: ,

About Undreren

I'm a university student from Denmark, currently taking my candidate degree in Mathematical-Economics. I have played pen & paper RPG's since 2004, but my interest for the phenomenon sparked about 3 years prior to that. I'm an amateur programmer and knows Java and Haskell as well as some rudimentary HTML, CSS, PHP and Javascript.

3 responses to “Finally, a party assembled!”

  1. Nifelhein says :

    Congratulations on the beautiful and growing family!!! I hope the game go as well as that too. 😉

    • Undreren says :

      Thanks 🙂

      I think the little angel is waking up now. She is beginning to whimper a little, after sleeping for almost three hours. She’s probably wet, and in need of a dry diaper. I’ll have to check up on that in a minute…

  2. Andrey M Clis Ryzhkov says :

    Hey, Kasper! What a beautiful child, and your wife is gorgeous! Andrei, from Russia with love;)

Leave a Reply

