Random Dungeon Tiles!

My previous post mentioned the general idea, but since it’s also a rather long anecdote on how the idea was conceived, I’ll repost the idea here.

The idea

The idea is to take a lot of square coaster-sized pieces of cardboard and make them into a self-contained adventure that generates a dungeon on the go.

The coasters will be put in a pile, which may or may not be sorted after some fashion, and every time the players investigate a new room, you just take a coaster after some randomization principle, and put it in front of the players.

If you do this on top of a large piece of paper, I’m thinking A2 sized, or on a whiteboard of some kind, then you could actually draw the map as it is explored. Just draw a hallway by hand between the exit used in the room you left and the entry used in the room you just drew from the stack!

The room tiles should be drawn by top down view, as this will eventually become a map over the dungeon. Still, details can be added to make this quite extraordinary.

So far

I’m still only in the brainstorming phase for the random dungeon tiles. The theme is Dwarf Hold, and I’m currently listing the rooms I need or want for the dungeon.

The list isn’t so long:

  • Hold Entrance – First room of the dungeon, very dwarfy with lots of statues and a red carpet
  • Underground Garden – My wife’s idea. Will sport a giant killer plant, probably guarding some treasure.
  • Barracks – Yeah, this is basically the sleeping quarters for a lot of kobolds. And by a lot, I really mean a lot.
  • Forge – No dwarf hold without a dwarven forge!
  • Dwarven Vault – “Here be dragons”

So, this is the idea so far, and I really want more input from people who care about this idea or project. I want this project to become a self-contained, system-neutral, randomized, fantasy adventure that can be played a lot of times before you’ve tried everything.

Design rules

I have a rule of thumb that every room should contain something dangerous. Sometimes the danger can be ignored, but it should be at the cost of something the players want. Treasure perhaps. Also, the surroundings should have a Dwarfish theme.

A plead for aid

If you have a great idea, then post it. I’ll probably make it. I really want to see this project through!

Tags: ,

About Undreren

I'm a university student from Denmark, currently taking my candidate degree in Mathematical-Economics. I have played pen & paper RPG's since 2004, but my interest for the phenomenon sparked about 3 years prior to that. I'm an amateur programmer and knows Java and Haskell as well as some rudimentary HTML, CSS, PHP and Javascript.

Leave a Reply

