So, Dungeon Morphs…

It seems my idea about using coasters isn’t that original. At least not if you take a look at Dungeon Morphs. First this was a bit of a letdown for me, I really thought I was quite brilliant for a few days.

Now that the slight disappointment has passed, I see that I can use this to my advantage; I no longer have to make the cards, and can just start writing the adventure!

The idea will be modified a bit for this purpose; the Dungeon Morphs (all 90 of them, wauw) will be shuffled, and every time a Morph card is left, a new one will be drawn and placed in extension. There will now be rolled dice to decide which encounter is met.

The mechanic will be simple; you roll a die, maybe a d8, I don’t know yet, and take the d8’th unmet encounter on the list, marking it off. This is what is encountered on this Morph card. When you roll higher than the amount of remaining encounters, simply take the highest.

In this way, the dragon will be placed lowest on the list, and the longer the list is, the “deeper” the dungeon will become. Having more encounters on the list than the sides of the die also ensures that there will be some encounters prior to the dragon.

How do you people like this spin? I was also thinking about using my coasters to write the encounters upon, and pseudo randomizing those.

Tags: , , , ,

About Undreren

I'm a university student from Denmark, currently taking my candidate degree in Mathematical-Economics. I have played pen & paper RPG's since 2004, but my interest for the phenomenon sparked about 3 years prior to that. I'm an amateur programmer and knows Java and Haskell as well as some rudimentary HTML, CSS, PHP and Javascript.

Leave a Reply

