Through the sewers

A not so long time ago, I played a one-shot where the players went through some sewers. I asked them where they wanted to go, and just said they arrived.

The game as a whole was pretty awesome, but that sewer thing just began bugging me afterwards. I think it would have been more fun to resolve with a custom move, so I’ve come up with one, just for kicks.

The sewers of Davenport
When you enter the sewers of Davenport, say where you want to go, and roll+INT. Take +1 if you have a map of the sewers. *On a 10+, you get there, no trouble. *On a 7-9, you get where you want to go, but choose two:

  • You avoid getting attacked by the Sewer Lads gang on your way.
  • You find your way before you have to Make Camp.
  • You convince the guard to unlock the sewer grate for you without a bribe.

The first “minor consequence” for the 7-9 result comes from the fiction; there was a lot of gangs roaming the slums around town, from which there was easy access to the sewers. The third also comes from the fiction, because we had established that there were corrupt guards, guarding the entrances to the sewers, mainly to prevent people from sneaking in to the Noble’s District, which was under a lockdown. The middle option just “made sense” to me somehow, that the sewer was a maze to navigate.

About Undreren

I'm a university student from Denmark, currently taking my candidate degree in Mathematical-Economics. I have played pen & paper RPG's since 2004, but my interest for the phenomenon sparked about 3 years prior to that. I'm an amateur programmer and knows Java and Haskell as well as some rudimentary HTML, CSS, PHP and Javascript.

3 responses to “Through the sewers”

  1. afsrodrigues says :

    I’d rather write those in the negative, to make them work from the character perspective:

    (…) On a 7-9, you get where you want to go, but choose two:

    * You avoid getting attacked by the Sewer Lads gang on your way.
    * You find your way before you have to Make Camp.
    * You convince the guard to unlock the sewer grate for you without a bribe.

    I prefer it that way because it suggests that all those things are problems the characters faced but found a way to overcome, instead of authoring in the fact that the gang attacked them during play.

    I think John Harpers explains it better than I ever could:
    http://mightyatom.blogspot.pt/2010/10/apocalypse-world-crossing-line.html

    But that’s just my preference, the move is still evocative and fun as written.

Leave a Reply

